Stuffed Acorn Squash

  
Fall is here!  It’s been cold and rainy! Which makes me want warm yummy comfort foods.  When I think of fall food I see hearty soups, pumpkin desserts, and winter squash!  

My mom makes a MEAN butternut/acorn squash soup.  She seasons it with brown sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg.  That’s why I was a little skeptical to whip up this recipe because it is savory instead of sweet. 

Turns out acorn squash is equally delicious on both ends of the spectrum. 

I chopped a large yellow onion, 2 zucchini, and 8 oz white mushrooms.  I sautéed them over medium heat until the onion was translucent and the veggies were tender.  I didn’t add any oil or fat because the zucchini provides enough moisture to cook the veggies in.  In fact, I had to drain some of the water to get them brown. I generously seasoned with salt and pepper.  My mixture looked like this: 

  
When the veggies got nice and soft I added in about 1 cup precooked rice. 

  
Next I mixed in 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese.  I put a dab of butter in each squash before I stuffed them.  Once I stuffed them I added more cheddar cheese on top.  Then they went back in the oven to melt. 

  
All in all, delicious!  Hubby loved it, but said it would be good with some ground sausage next time.  I think I’ll try that! 

Stuffed Acorn Squash 

  • 2 acorn squash, halved and seeded 
  • 2 zucchini, chopped
  • 1 yellow onion, chopped
  • 8 oz white mushroom, chopped
  • 1 cup cooked brown rice 
  • 3/4 – 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese 
  • Olive oil 
  • butter (optional) 
  • salt and pepper to taste 
  1. Halve each squash and remove the seed-y middle.  Drizzle with olive oil and place flesh side up on a cookie sheet. Cover with tin foil and bake at 400 degrees for about 55 minutes.  Half way through remove foil and flip the squash. 
  2. In the meantime, add all the chopped veggies (zucchini, onion, mushroom) to a large skillet over medium heat.  For a healthier option don’t add any oil or fat, let the heat bring out the moisture in the zucchini. Generously season with salt and pepper. 
  3. Once the veggies are tender and the onion is translucent, add in the brown rice and about 1/2 cup shredded cheese. 
  4. Place a dab of butter in each acorn squash halve before stuffing (optional). Stuff with veggie mixture and top with remaining cheese. Place in the oven to melt. 

  

2 thoughts on “Stuffed Acorn Squash

  1. I was waffling between acorn squash and spaghetti squash at the store yesterday. Glad I picked acorn – this recipe looks delicious! Can’t wait to try it!

Leave a Reply

