For the Momma Feeling Discontent at Home

Dear Momma,

I have been where you are and have felt what you feel. It’s a heavy load to bear and sometimes you cry hot, angry tears.

Your husband gets to work in quiet solitude all day, while you chase small children and clean never-ending messes. You change poppy diapers, give bathes, and dress un-cooperating children. You sweep, wash, and vacuum on repeat. You fill sippy cups, mop spills, and prepare food endlessly. Maybe you’re pregnant on top of all that and are dealing with naseas, fatigue, and sore breasts and back. Your body is climbed on, nursed on, and hugged on all day long. You can’t even use the bathroom by yourself. Can’t you just catch a break?

You don’t feel content inside these four walls. It feels more like a cage than a home. When you feel this discontentment it leaks out of you and begins to infect the atmosphere. You wear it on your face, your coutenence changes, and everyone picks up on it. Your home runs ridged, crooked, and unorganized. Your children are irritable and your husband is grumpy.

And if you’re anything like me you hate that you’re feeling this way because you know God has called you to be a mother who is content at home.

I don’t have all the answers, but I can offer up this bit of encouragement and teach you what has made me content to be home. When I feel myself slipping back into discontentment I have to remind myself what I’m living for, or who I’m living for.


The Bible clearly tells us to be content no matter the circumstance. Webster Dictionary defines the word content: pleased and satisfied : not needing more. 

. . . For I have learned to be content whatever the circumstance. Philippians 4:11

I’m reminded of these scriptures,

Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes. James 4:14

Dear friends, I warn you as “temporary residents and foreigners” to keep away from worldly desires that wage war against your very souls. 1 Peter 2:11

Make it your goal to live a quiet life . . . 1 Thessalonians 4:11

My thinking changes when I meditate on these scriptures. Sometimes I have to read them over and over. I usually have to remind myself often of these truths when I find I am slipping back into discontentment. 

If you believe the Bible then you know we won’t be here for very long. If my life is like a vapor or a mist compared to all of eternity then what should I be focusing my time and attention on? In my heart I know it’s the training of my children who are my first ministry (husband and children). 

I won’t be able to bring anything with me when I die. But my children’s souls are eternal. I need to be diligent and intentional to practice a life of love and devotion to God. I need to live in grace, contentment, and joy not matter the circumstance! The Bible tells us our children will not depart if we train them in the way they should go. What an awesome promise!!!

 Train up a child in the way he should go and when he is older he will not depart from it. Proverbs 22:6

You may need to switch your thinking. It’s a choice everyday to realign yourself with The Word of God. 

Our children are watching us all the time. They watch how we react to situations, how we do our day in and day out work in the home, how we discipline, and how we react to our husbands. And weather you like it or not they are learning and imitating you! So react with grace, work with joy, discipline in love, and treat your husband with respect and kiss him often! 

Chances are if you’re discontent at home when you know you’re called to it, you’re not spending consistent time with God. Ouch! I know, but it’s a hard truth you need to accept. 

Spending time with God through Bible study, prayer, and worship is vital to have unwavering peace and joy. It changes the atmosphere in your home! Don’t think your babies and small children can’t feel Him, they can and they do! His glory is like a flame that burns hot and dissolves all worldly attitudes and desires. He de-clutters the heart. He’s the only thing that can truly change you. Above all, you need to find your contentment in Him. Nothing else will satisfy.

In your presence there is fullness of joy; at your right hand are pleasures forevermore. Psalms 16:11

For he satisfies the longing soul, and the hungry soul he fills with good things. Psalms 107:9

Jesus said to them, “I am the bread of life; whoever comes to me shall not hunger, and whoever believes in me shall never thirst.” John 6:35

I’m praying for you, Momma. 

Love, Ashley 

If this post ministered to you at all, would you consider sharing it? You never know who else needs to hear it. 

One thought on “For the Momma Feeling Discontent at Home

  1. It’s the best job on the planet…but it’s not easy!! From someone who has to leave the house to work, I’d give anything to be home again 🙂 Keep it up girl. Your love and words are eternal ❤️

Leave a Reply

