Maple Sausage & Apple Stuffed Zucchini Boats

  
I wanted that stuffing flavor without all the carbs. Here is a winner! 

  
I cooked the Maple Sausage until it was no longer pink and started to brown. Smells of heaven . . . 

  

I took the seeds out out of the zucchini. I was a little too rough on that little guy . . . 

  
Then I cooked the onion and apple in a little grease from the sausage. You can add another oil if you want (olive oil, coconut oil,) I added some of the zucchini pulp in once I squeezed out the excess water.

  
When the sausage was done I put it into a bowl and added some pure maple syrup! It really adds to the over all maple flavor of this dish.  

  
When the onion/Apple mixture was soft I added to the bowl full of sausage. 

  
I also added the eggs and salt.

   
 
Then I stuffed them. I covered the pan with tin foil and baked for 35 minutes. 

  
Added cheese at the end. 

  

  • about 4 zucchini, cut length wise 
  • 1 pound maple sausage 
  • small yellow onion, chopped
  • 2 small apples, peeled, cored, and chopped 
  • 2 eggs 
  • 1/8th cup pure maple syrup 
  • salt to taste 
  • mozzarella cheese for topping 
  1. Cook the sausage in a pan over medium high heat until it begins to brown and is no longer pink. 
  2. In the meantime scoop out the seeds and pulp in the zucchini. Reserve about 1/4 – 1/2 cup of the pulp. Squeeze out the excess water in the zucchini pulp and chop.
  3. In a new pan add the chopped onion, apple, and zucchini pulp. Cook until tender. I used some of the grease from the sausage to coat the pan. 
  4. When the sausage is done put it in a large bowl and stir in the maple syrup. 
  5. When the onion mixture is done add it to the bowl as well. 
  6. Salt the mixture. Add the eggs. Stir well. 
  7. Place the zucchini boats on a cookie sheet and stuff them. Cover with tin foil and cook them on 400 degrees for 35 – 40 minutes. 
  8. Top with mozzeralla and put back in the oven until melted. 

  

Leave a Reply

