Chicken Burrito Boats


I just realized the majority of my recipes include stuffing a variety of winter squash, but I will not apologize. There is something magical about an oven roasted squash stuffed with yummy flavors on a cold winter night.

I cut two spaghetti squash and spooned the seedy gunk out of the middle. I placed them on a cookie sheet meat side up. Then I drizzled them with a little olive oil and covered with aluminum foil. Bake at 400 degrees until soft.


Next, I simply scooped out the meat with a fork. It is stringy like spaghetti. I put in a large mixing bowl.


I chopped some bell peppers, garlic and onion and sautéed in a little bit of coconut oil.


I had some plain crock pot shredded chicken left over so I measured out four portions and added it into the bell pepper mixture when they were translucent and soft.


Next I added a pack of taco seasoning and some water.


In the meantime I have added a can of kidney beans and a can of fire roster tomatoes to the spaghetti squash mixture.


Then I added the taco seasoned bell pepper mixture. Mix well.


Then I measure out a blue container of cheese for each boat. Once I filled the boats I topped with the cheese and placed in the oven to melt


Chicken Burrito Boats 

  • 2 spaghetti squash, cut length wise
  • oil (olive oil or coconut, whatever your preference)
  • 2 bell peppers, chopped (I used different colors)
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 tbsp minced garlic
  • 1 (15 oz) can kidney beans
  • 1 (15 oz) can diced tomatoes (I used fire roasted)
  • 1 sleeve taco seasoning
  • 4 red containers shredded chicken or about 1 lb chicken (you can boil it in water and then shred if you don’t have left overs like me)
  • 4 blue containers cheddar cheese
  1. Scoop the seedy gunk out of the spaghetti squash and place on a cookie sheet meat side up. Drizzle with oil and cover with aluminum foil. Bake at 400 degrees for about 1 hour or until soft.
  2. When squash has cooled take a fork and remove the spaghetti squash meat. Place in a large bowl.
  3. Place chopped belle peppers, onion and minced garlic in a pan over medium – high heat. Add a touch of oil.
  4. When the onion is translucent and the peppers are soft add in the cooked shredded chicken.
  5. Next add the taco seasoning and a touch of water. Incorporate well.
  6. In the mean time, add the kidney beans and diced tomatoes to the large bowl of spaghetti squash. Make sure you rinse the beans and drain the tomatoes.
  7. Add the chicken mixture to the spaghetti squash mixture and mix.
  8. Next, fill the spaghetti squash boats with this mixture. Add 1 blue container of cheese to each boat and place back in the oven for cheese to melt.
Leave a Reply

